#GEInstaWalk: A Geek’s Dream Adventure (Part 2 of 2)

Recently, I outlined why I’d like to join General Electric (GE) to visit wind turbines in Cape Cod, MA for part of GE’s famed #GEInstaWalk. #GEInstaWalk is a real-time tour highlighing some of GE’s most advanced technologies. And, three super fans and three Instagram influencers were invited to chronicle the experience.

I checked multiple times on the day that they were to announce the winners, and I was thrilled (and honestly, shocked) when I received an Instagram message inviting me to attend. Not only was I going to have the privilege to go on an amazing adventure, I was going to get to meet three renowned Instagram influencers, two other super fans, staff from the agency who coordinated the event, and staff from GE’s renewable and corporate communications teams. THRILLED! I knew that my husband would be a little jealous as I have him to thank for my appreciation and respect for clean energy. (He did his PhD dissertation on the systems that protect wind plants during faults. He’s a nerd in the *best* sense of the word.)

It was a once-in-a-lifetime trip from the well-organized planning to the thoughtful welcome gifts to the incredible access we had to one of the most brilliant machines on earth: wind turbines. Towering 264 feet in the air, these 77 megawatt wind turbines are a sight to behold. I could hear the blades whooshing above me, and their technology is so advanced that the position and direction of the blades adjust to the wind in real-time to optimize energy output. Here are some of my favorite parts of the adventure:

Keys to the Turbine

The keys to the turbine

 

One of the four ladders we climbed to reach 264 feet in the air

One of the four ladders we climbed to reach 264 feet in the air

INside the turbine, these tubes transmit the AC power fromt he top of the tower bfore converting it to DC and then back to AC to the grid, where it powers our homes and businesses.

Inside the turbine, these tubes transmit the AC power from the top of the tower before converting it to DC and then back to AC to the grid, where it powers our homes and businesses

 

The turbines are majestic and harness the fierce nature of weather

The turbines are majestic and harness the fierce nature of weather

 

Sitting 264 feet up in the air on top of the turbine! I was pretty terrified

Sitting 264 feet up in the air on top of the turbine! I was pretty terrified

 

It was a fantastic trip, and I have an even greater appreciation and respect for GE’s technology and renewable energy. Thanks, GE!

 

Leave a Reply

