Fully-Animated GIF’s in Twitter News Feed? Yes, Please.

I know. Very exciting.

I know. Very exciting.

Whether it’s debating their pronunciation, animating GIFs in Keynote presentation, or searching for the perfect birthday GIF on We Heart It (hat tip @KaitlynDennihy), I love GIF’s. However, I recently tried to upload an animated gif natively within a Twitter post. And realized I couldn’t. While a Twitter user’s profile image can be animated (example; hat tip @DustinRThompson), a native photo in a post cannot be animated.

But, the internets that share my love for GIFs figured out a workaround. Specifically, one that allows for a fully-expanded (by default) animated gif to display like regular graphics – but more fun.

Users can leverage a workaround with Giphy and a Twitter card. Instructions from The Next Web: http://thenextweb.com/twitter/2013/11/14/get-messy-giphy-brings-animated-gifs-twitter-timeline/. Giphy is also a search engine for GIFs.

I wasn’t able to yet find any brand who have taken advantage of the capability in Twitter specifically. (Please let me know if you see of any, and I will update.)

(Note: Giphy functionality also allows for animated GIFs in Facebook; hat tip @Lauren_Clinton.)

Another favorite: "When I'm surrounded by really upbeat, peppy people." - What Should We Call Me

Another favorite: “When I’m surrounded by really upbeat, peppy people.” – What Should We Call Me

6 thoughts on “Fully-Animated GIF’s in Twitter News Feed? Yes, Please.

  1. Pingback: GIF Gardens: How to (Easily) Animate Your Plant Photos | The Horticult

Leave a Reply

