a few of my favorite things: podcasts

I’m an avid podcast listener.  Everything from technology, news, meditations, church messages. I’m also an avid organizer of my iTunes podcast library.  On a regular basis, I maintain star ratings on my favorites, insert comments to remind myself of favorite content, and delete the files I don’t want to keep.

In the same way that Facebook photo albums have become a scrapbooking tool that also associates a date with the photo automatically, my podcast library is a tool I use to compile memories digitally.  If I sort by highest rating, I can see those podcasts that made the greatest impression on me (by star rating) and why (by comments) and when they impacted me (by date added and/or last played).

Subscribing to podcasts is also a cost-saving tool.  For my church, I can reference favorite past series or pass along favorite sermons to friends (whereas the next available option would be to buy the DVD of the series, which runs >$20). I also organize meditations from different podcast subscriptions and arrange them according to topic (e.g. trouble falling asleep, meditation music without voice, yoga) in lieu of purchasing a CD of the same material.  This is all legal as well.

Listed in order of preference, here’s a rundown of podcasts definitely worth a listen:

  1. The Moth: best-of stories from the acclaimed not-for-profit organization dedicated to the art and craft of storytelling.  Hilarious, heart-wrenching, and incredibly memorable.
  2. Slate Daily Podcast: a selection of stories, interviews, and the weekly political roundup. Slate is a daily magazine on the Web. Founded in 1996, we are a general-interest publication offering analysis and commentary about politics, news, business, technology, and culture. Slate‘s strong editorial voice and witty take on current events have been recognized with numerous awards, including the National Magazine Award for General Excellence Online.  I look forward to Fridays with the release of the Slate Political Gabfest.
  3. Get-It-Done Guy’s Quick and Dirty Tips to Work Less and Do More
  4. Living on the Edge with Chip Ingram daily podcast
  5. Relaxation by Inner Health Studio Relaxation by Inner Health Studio
  6. Andy Stanley Leadership Podcast: Leadership messages by Andy Stanley. (iTunes or website)
  7. NPR: Hmmm….  Krulwich on Science
  8. Engauge’s DIG:This Podcast
  9. Buckhead Church – Weekly Message Podcast(iTunes or website)
  10. North Point Ministries: Andy Stanley Podcast: “Best of” messages by Andy Stanley that were previously heard at North Point Community Church. These messages will be released on a bi-weekly basis. (iTunes or website)
  11. StoryCorps
  12. The Gillmor Gang
  13. The Economist
  14. WNYC’s RadioLab
  15. This American Life

Would also love to hear how you all are listening to podcasts and which ones are your favorites.  I migrated my podcast subscriptions from iTunes to Google Reader yesterday, so the test is in progress.  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

